University of Mississippi
School of Pharmacy Alumni & Giving

Pharmacy Golf Tournament

Ole Miss Golf Course

2010 Tournament

More than 60 School of Pharmacy alumni, students, faculty, and friends joined forces to raise more than $21,000 to endow scholarships in the Inaugural Pharmacy Alumni Chapter Scholarship Golf Tournament at the Ole Miss Golf Course on March 26, 2010.

The first of these scholarships will be awarded in the Fall of 2010. Students eligible for the scholarship funds must be enrolled in the professional program.

“I am thrilled with the success of this Inaugural Pharmacy Alumni Chapter Scholarship Golf Tournament,” said Pharmacy Dean Barbara G. Wells. “Alumni and student participation far exceeded our expectations, and we are grateful for the financial support which provides critically needed funds for scholarships. We are indebted to Scott Thompson, Sarah Hollis, Jack Adams, Michael Warren, Chris McCurdy, and Steve Cutler for their hard work in making this event such a resounding success.”


Sponsorship Level



Galen Level


Rite Aid Corporation, Cardinal Health, Inc., and Dr. Comfort

Ole Miss Pharmacist Level


Mississippi Independent Pharmacies Association, PerkinElmer, Waters Corporation, and Ole Miss Catering

Hole Sponsor


Top Rx, Inc., Larson’s Big Star, G&M Pharmacy, Klepzig Family Pharmacy, Chaney’s Pharmacy, The Tyson Drug Stores, Sullivan’s Discount Drug, The Diabetic Shoppe, Essco Drugs, The Medicine Shoppe – Olive Branch, Miss., Stan Williams, Henderson Health Mart Drugs, Centrix Pharmaceutical, Inc., University Sporting Goods/James Food Center, Corner Drug Store, LaRue’s Drugs & Montgomery Drug Co.


2010 Class Winners
Wes Pierce (left), Vishal Patel, Travis King, and Brock Smith

Tournament Champions: Robert Salmon, James Salmon, Larry Barefoot, and Kelly Greenwood (Team sponsored by Mississippi Independent Pharmacies Association)
2nd Place: Ryan Plaza (Sponsored by Dr. Comfort), David Schuler (Sponsored by Cardinal Health, Inc.), Val Soldevila, and Dr. Stephen Cutler
3rd Place: Christopher Davis, Lowell Stone, Robert Peel, and Traci Lawson (Student team)
Class Champion: PY4 Class – Wes Pierce, Travis King, Vishal Patel, and Brock Smith
Putting Contest: Rob Buck (Waters Corporation)
Longest Drive: Jake Sprouse (PY1 Student)
Closest to the Pin: Steve Nelson and Steve Cutler